Libbie the Lobster

To purchase the children's book "Saving Libbie the Lobster" go to www.LibbietheLobster.com

About Us Part Two–Marybeth

Leave a comment

Just yesterday a young woman, pregnant with her fist child, standing beside her mother, my good friend, said to me in all earnest, “You are pretty wild, aren’t you?” How interesting, I thought and replied, “Well, I think I’m just me.”

What people see is that I am an older woman with tattoos and dreadlocks who appears to be confident and outgoing. People who know me describe me as passionate, intelligent, self-expressive, helpful, friendly and kind. I think they are just being kind. Those same qualities can often be detrimental. I tend to be over-zealous about things such as animal rights, the environment, and personal responsibility for choices and I want everyone to feel the same way.  I have no tolerance for apathy. And I sometimes I can be too smart for my own good.

What I know about me is that I have learned much about life the hard way. I am a hippie still, a rebel, a fighter for a cause. I care little what people think of me because I know that I have compassion for all life and strive to do no harm to people or to nature. I am overwhelmed with gratitude for the life I live. I don’t fear death and rarely fear anything.

The things that really turn me on are good science fiction and many areas hard science. Quantum physics is a passion of mine. I read about it just for fun. I am a retired psychotherapist so behavior and the mind are also fascinating to me. I could watch a lizard go about her business of catching bugs at super-fast speed for hours. I marvel at clouds and the stars. The very thought of traveling into space excites me. I love seeing what Hubble sees and watching a rocket launch. I live for the beach, the waves and the warmth1537590_661955843855916_166414328_o of the sun on my skin. But mostly now I love to write. Time stops, nothing else matters, and ideas flow as though I have been taken over by some other being.

There are some things I must do before I die. I want to hang-glide in Costa Rica, zipline in Colorado, visit my son and daughter-in-law in Japan, and to leave a positive mark on people’s lives where I can. My greatest hope is to write awesome books to leave as my legacy.

To some I suppose I am a “wild woman” and to others I may be weird, crazy, or strange, but I am who I have created myself to be and I am a work in progress still.

 

 

Author: Libbie The Lobster

I am a writer and a co-author of the children's book, Saving Libbie the Lobster, with Heather Chalmers. Our story is based on the true adventure of how we rescued a rare yellow lobster from our local supermarket.

Leave a Reply

