Libbie the Lobster

To purchase the children's book "Saving Libbie the Lobster" go to www.LibbietheLobster.com

I Needed a Miracle

Leave a comment

The day I saw Libbie in the lobster tank at my local supermarket I had needed a miracle. I had been in a deep depression that was not unfamiliar to me. The weeks leading to that day I had been sinking deeper and deeper into a hopeless state of being. The cause was not unknown to me. I have suffered from severe chronic depression since childhood. Although I have learned many effective ways to live with this affliction, I find myself at times walking a fine line between, despair and elation. In fact, the title of my novel-in-progress is, The Jumping Off Place and it is the story of a young woman’s struggle with addiction and mental illness.

That serendipitous day that I saw Libbie the Lobster, I had known I could not give in to the temptation to isolate myself from the world one more day. Forlorn, I had gone to buy some simple food for the following few days.

And then it happened–a miracle!!! I saw Libbie and my heart threatened to burst with love. Suddenly I had purpose! I plunged into the task at hand–rescue the beautiful rare yellow lobster from being boiled alive and eaten. I could not have known that day that my life would change so dramatically.14903_851434018200920_2174728373357695018_n I could not have imagined that my love of writing, my love for all living things, and my love for children would culminate not only in Libbie becoming a star but that I would co-author a children’s book about Libbie.

A sense of meaning and purpose has been restored to me. Once again I am learning that it is by self-forgetting that I find peace. Libbie coming into my life was a much-needed miracle. My hope is now to bring joy to others through Libbie’s story.

http://www.libbiethelobster.com/

https://www.facebook.com/LibbieTheLobster

https://twitter.com/MJeitner

Author: Libbie The Lobster

I am a writer and a co-author of the children's book, Saving Libbie the Lobster, with Heather Chalmers. Our story is based on the true adventure of how we rescued a rare yellow lobster from our local supermarket.

Leave a Reply

