Libbie the Lobster

To purchase the children's book "Saving Libbie the Lobster" go to www.LibbietheLobster.com

Compassion in Action

Leave a comment

I would like to clear the air and talk about veganism.  My view of veganism is much like the many people I know who are vegan. It seems to me that many people have mistaken views of what the term means.

But first, what does being vegan have to do with Libbie the Lobster you might ask. The answer is that if I were not vegan, I would probably have seen the bright yellow lobster that weighed twice as much as the other lobsters in the tank at the supermarket and thought, Wow! Maybe she tastes better too. I may have bought her and taken her home like any human omnivore would have; thrown her into boiling water while she was still alive, not caring at all if she could feel the pain; and then gladly have eater her with lots of butter. But my compassion for all living things would not allow that.

The most commonly asked questions I receive about being vegan are, “But how do you get enough protein?”644234_457271411004654_1132898764_n and “Don’t you crave a big beef steak or ice cream?”

In response, yes I do get the full range of proteins from plant sources and no, I do not ever crave steak or ice cream. By the way, vegan ice cream is the best I’ve ever had!

I would like to tell you what veganism is and what it is not. Vegan is NOT a fad. Vegan is NOT a diet to lose weight. Vegan is NOT the same as vegetarian. Vegan is NOT gluten-free. Vegan does NOT mean organic. Vegans do NOT just eat salads. Vegan is NOT a political statement or a religious movement.

Vegan IS a philosophy of life. Vegan IS a healthy food choice. Vegan IS a lifestyle.

As a vegan I believe that all life is sacred. As a human, I am not above or below any living thing. I co-exist with everything in nature. I believe in non-violence. I eat a healthy diet consisting of plant-based foods, avoiding GMOs, pesticides, and chemical fertilizers wherever possible. My lifestyle choice of being vegan includes not purchasing or wearing animal products and being responsible to reduce my carbon footprint thus doing my part to preserve our planet.

Becoming vegan was one of the best choices I ever made. Saving Libbie was compassion in action. Not participating in the global systematic torture of animals for food and for clothing is compassion action.10527607_10152579371125688_2236996638321998164_n I am grateful to know that I am not alone in this.

Well I feel better. I think I have cleared the air a little about veganism. If you would like to know more about veganism, you can start here: http://www.chicvegan.com/resources/

To see more about Libbie the Lobster and join in the fun of her soon to be released children’s book, Saving Libbie the Lobster, click here: https://www.facebook.com/LibbieTheLobster

And to Preorder a Limited Edition First Print copy of Saving Libbie the Lobster, click here: http://www.libbiethelobster.com/

 

Author: Libbie The Lobster

I am a writer and a co-author of the children's book, Saving Libbie the Lobster, with Heather Chalmers. Our story is based on the true adventure of how we rescued a rare yellow lobster from our local supermarket.

Leave a Reply

