Libbie the Lobster

To purchase the children's book "Saving Libbie the Lobster" go to www.LibbietheLobster.com

What’s all the Hoopla?

Leave a comment

It has been a month since I first laid eyes on the rare golden-yellow lobster in a local Publix supermarket. To my amazement many people became quite excited and willing to help when I posted a picture of her on Facebook. So why were people so enthusiastic about one, 2.5 pound, yellow lobster?14903_851434018200920_2174728373357695018_n

Wherever I go these days, people recognize me from the TV newscasts of Libbie the Lobster’s rescue. I began to wonder what all the hoopla was about. As I listened to people talk about the story I became aware that many people had interjected their own reasons why saving Libbie was a good thing to do.

The TV News stations, Newspapers and online News sources told me they thought this was a “great human interest story.” Laughingly, I thought it sounded more like a “lobster interest story.” I was fully aware that I just wanted to save a beautiful yellow lobster from a sure and painful death. If that led to people seeing some positive news for a change, then I was all for it.

Several friends believed that saving Libbie was a way for me to bring awareness to others about animal cruelty. I had not though of that but certainly if some people became more aware, that is wonderful.

Through the many comments on Facebook, I could see that generally people thought this story was cute and shared the pictures with their children. I was thrilled to make people smile in delight looking at Libbie’s pictures. images (5)

But what, you may wonder, was my intent? Honestly, I saw this magnificent yellow lobster in the lobster tank and my heart sank. I am vegan and I do not want any animal to suffer for human consumption. It is in my nature to take any opportunity I can to practice what I believe. I did not once consider I may change people’s minds about how they eat. Although some people have told me they will never eat lobster again.

And so by doing my small part to help a lobster, people came together yet again and showed the power of the human spirit to make a difference.

http://www.libbiethelobster.com/

https://www.facebook.com/LibbieTheLobster

https://twitter.com/MJeitner

 

Author: Libbie The Lobster

I am a writer and a co-author of the children's book, Saving Libbie the Lobster, with Heather Chalmers. Our story is based on the true adventure of how we rescued a rare yellow lobster from our local supermarket.

Leave a Reply

