Libbie the Lobster

To purchase the children's book "Saving Libbie the Lobster" go to www.LibbietheLobster.com

Student and Teacher

Leave a comment

Everything having to do with Libbie zipped by so quickly, Heather and I did not stop long enough to even question what we were doing. Every once in a while we would mention what a good team we were to get things done. Heather was so good at some things and I was good at others. We texted, messaged, emailed and phoned each other almost constantly.

Now that I have a few moments to reflect, I realize that we were both students and teachers to each other. I was learning to use the internet and specifically Facebook, Google and messaging in ways I had not known before.  I was having flashbacks to graduate school when I felt overwhelmed but kept going until my brain felt like it could not hold one more piece of information without literally exploding. I sometimes laughed at myself during that first week when I tried to find Libbie a home and the story went viral, and just kept doing what was in front of me to do.

I pictured Heather at home with her daughter preparing for the new school year, taking care of theimages (5) house and her family as she ran back and forth to the store for ice and the ocean for seawater to care for Libbie in her kitchen. If someone had been filming us, it would have made for great comedy I think. Heather was learning too.

From that first week valuable lessons were learned. Heather and I learned about each other and I learned much about myself. Heather became my teacher in many ways as well. And other teachers appeared. Mark Murrell, owner of GetMaineLobster.com is a good example. He taught me that a stranger (to me) who sells lobsters for consumption, cared about Libbie and was willing to help because he believes strongly in sustainability.

I have believed for many years that we are all teachers and students. I like being the student. I love to learn. One might say I have a passion for learning. And one of the greatest gifts in my life is to be able to pass it on, to teach what I learn.  I am both student and teacher. I am grateful for my teachers.

 

http://libbiethelobster.com/

https://www.facebook.com/LibbieTheLobster?ref=bookmarks

 

 

Author: Libbie The Lobster

I am a writer and a co-author of the children's book, Saving Libbie the Lobster, with Heather Chalmers. Our story is based on the true adventure of how we rescued a rare yellow lobster from our local supermarket.

Leave a Reply

