Libbie the Lobster

To purchase the children's book "Saving Libbie the Lobster" go to www.LibbietheLobster.com

The Moral of the Story

Leave a comment

As Heather Chalmers and I began to talk about writing the story of Libbie in a children’s book, we had many ideas about how children may be able to relate to what we saw as Libbie’s experience in the world. Because she was yellow and very rare (one in 30 million rare) we imagined she felt different from the other10609045_10204622361664750_1119253355_n lobsters and we knew from our research the Libbie was more vulnerable to prey because she could not camouflage herself well in the rocks and grasses of the ocean.

I pondered the question of my own experience as a child and the times I felt different, which was quite often as I recall. (It was a really long time ago). I remember feeling sad and afraid that I didn’t fit in with the other kids even though there was nothing so different about me. I wasn’t golden-yellow when everyone else was brownish red. So I began to think that perhaps most children feel different from their peers sometimes.

The moral of the story then is this: Libbie felt sad and alone in her home in the ocean but later became a star because she is an enigma.

Then the real life events began to flow in a fun way as Heather and I began to write the book.

But I think the moral of Libbie’s story will touch adults as well. In fact I think there is another powerful moral to the story. My hope is that people may see the other moral too; that the determination of two women who barely knew each other, came together for the purpose of saving one beautiful, rare lobster from someone’s dinner table. Maybe people will see that change can truly happen if one or two of us get together for good purpose. Within 24 hours of when I took the first photo of Libbie in a Publix Supermarket and posted it to Facebook asking for help, many, many people in our community came together. Change takes action and it can start with one person, which turns into two and then into many.

I am in awe of the goodness in people.

 

http://www.libbiethelobster.com/

https://www.facebook.com/LibbieTheLobster?ref=bookmarks

 

 

 

Author: Libbie The Lobster

I am a writer and a co-author of the children's book, Saving Libbie the Lobster, with Heather Chalmers. Our story is based on the true adventure of how we rescued a rare yellow lobster from our local supermarket.

Leave a Reply

